Chapter Time Line


House Bill 1055 Signed by the Governor

House Bill 1055 adds public safety telecommunications and their supervisors into the Public Safety Employee Retirement System, thereby allowing those with 10 years of service in the system to retire at age 60.


SSB-5555 becomes effective

The Washingotn State Legislature passed SSB-5555 which creates the Telecommunicator Certification Board, requires minimum training and state certification and acknowledges telecommunications as first responders.

Apr 2022

Chapter Logo Updated

Incorporating the Thin Gold Line into the Chapter Logo.


44th Western Regional Conference

Hosted in Tacoma, Washington. Conference chair Richard Kirton.


Electronic Voting

This was the first election where electronic voting was used. It doubled the number of votes received from previous elections.

Jun 2010


Our Washington State APCO Chapter was combined with NENA.

2008 – 2009

Chris Fischer – APCO International President

A member of APCO since 1980


33rd Western Regional Conference “Spokamelot”

Hosted in Spokane, Washington. Conference Chair Richard Kirton, Chapter President Phyllis Hull


27th Western Regional Conference

Hosted in Spokane, Washington. Conference Chair Alan Hull, Chapter President Lorri Ericson.


Washington Chapter Chartered

In 1996 we became the Washington State Chapter.


Ross A. Morris – APCO International President

Retired Department of Transportation Commercial Vehicle Information Systems Manager Ross Morris was an APCO member since 1971. During this time, Ross served our chapter as the Westside Member at Large and, in 1994, was honored with the Maurice Courtright Award, one of this chapter’s highest honors. He was elected as President of APCO National in 1995. During his term, he was instrumental in promoting Telecommunications Training Standards for Public Safety. This effort led to the foundation of the National Public Safety Telecommunicator Training Standards used today. Ross is an APCO International Life Member, an honor reserved for members who have made significant contributions to the organization. Ross’s passion and dedication have encouraged others to be involved in APCO, and his vision of the future continues to be reflected in this chapter.


58th APCO International Conference

Hosted in Seattle, Washington


21st Western Regional Conference

Hosted in Spokane, Washington. Conference Chair Phyllis Hull, NW APCO Chapter President David Harris


9th Western Regional Conference

Hosted in Seattle, Washington.

Aug 1965


Re-chartered in 1965

The Northwest Chapter was re-chartered with the new APCO name – Associated Public-Safety Communications Officers

Nov 1944


Northwest Chapter of APCO initial Charter

Established as the “Northwest Chapter” we represented Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, and the northern part of Utah.